5 Comments

Chicago Undie Dash

Thanks to the best kind of peer pressure, I walked around Chicago without pants and now I am posting the photographic evidence on the internet.

Pre-Race Team Photo

Pre-Race Team Photo

I love my Awestomy undies, and I love everything The Great Bowel Movement stands for, so I was pretty intrigued when I got the invitation to show off my ostomy/IBD awareness gear at the Chicago Undie Dash. Apparently I will do almost anything to publicize some of my favorite things.

Halfway Point

Halfway Point

Given my health situation and some quirky foot injuries, I was nervous about this race but I chose to go and do as much as I could without seriously hurting myself. I am not a runner, so I’m using the term “race” loosely here. It took a while before I could use stairs without cursing my muscles. I started wheezing early on, and I had to drink more water than most participants. Sometimes I felt tempted to lay down and take a nap on the grass. BUT I took care of myself, enjoyed talking with other walkers, and I did it. I went out and finished that 5K!

"I did it!"

“I did it!”

My team did not won any prizes for costumes, but they are the best cheerleaders anyone could ever ask for. While I was still walking toward the turnaround point, my teammates cheered me on as they sped toward the finish line, and that made me feel great. As I tried to jog the last stretch of the race, I did not expect to see all of them waiting for me and cheering near the finish line! They probably had to stand around for a long time. I didn’t realize it until later, but before I got there, this delightful show of support happened:

So much awesomeness right here.

So much awesomeness right here.

The shirt on the right is the IBD Empowerment Tech Tee, available here: http://ibdawareness.bigcartel.com/product/ibd-empowerment-tech-tee

I talked to fun people along the way, including a nice lady who just wanted her picture taken with me and another random person. After the picture was taken, she walked with me for a few minutes because she had a lot of questions about my ostomy and Crohn’s disease.

Just because we're cute

Just because we’re cute

A segway tour stopped to ask me about my awesome underwear and shirt, because one of them had an ostomy and because even among all the creative outfits at this event, my undies attracted a lot of attention. I also got to show off my pins from The Great Bowel Movement, because a few people were looking close enough to notice that I didn’t use safety pins to affix my race bib to my shorts. The people who noticed the details of my ensemble weren’t creepers, just fellow walkers. The creepers were too busy laughing and filming videos with their cell phones.

I’m pretty psyched about getting through my second 5K, but sometimes I get frustrated when I see stories of athletic people who used to be sick because they make me wonder if I have a willpower problem, so I want to offer some clarification here. It’s okay if you can’t do this, and I want you to remember that we are all very different and we all need to carefully consider our individual abilities, needs, and past physical trauma. For those of you who are in reasonably decent health you can probably do this if you start training with short walks and build up, so seriously consider signing up for a race sometime. You might surprise yourself.

Appropriate backdrop for this group

Appropriate backdrop for this group

For walking/running inspiration (please don’t be intimidated):

Ali on the Run http://www.aliontherunblog.com/

Forward is a Pace http://forwardisapace.com/

Run Stronger Everyday http://runstrongereveryday.com/

Here are the links if you are interested in what I wore:

Great Bowel Movement shirts

Great Bowel Movement pins, stickers, and other goodies

Awestomy undies

Girls with Guts jewelry

A note to readers who don’t see me on a regular basis: I didn’t forget about correspondence or blogging, I’ve just been dealing with constant viruses and infections that kept me away from coherent reading and writing.

5 comments on “Chicago Undie Dash

  1. I workout & I run, I also have an ileostomy. Where do you get your special apparel? Thank you, Marci Burnett

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. haha this is AWESOME!! wish i had gone to chicago a little earlier now…i was just there in late july/early august for lollapalooza & some sightseeing.

Leave a Reply

The Irrefutable Opinion

Assaults on the Casually Mundane by K. Jean King

The Chronic Adventurer

Finding a silver lining from his IBD

#purpleproject

running to the bathroom.. my journey to cure IBD

skylersthelimit

To live is an act of courage.

Photography By: Meranda Roben O'Hara

"A memory can last a lifetime, A photo will bring life to a memory"

shine & Smile

Inspire. Dream. Love. & Keep Smiling Lovlies

Crohnie Man

Everything IBD and Crohn's

Mind Your Body

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

spilling my guts

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

Thaila Skye

Health, Happiness & Squee

talkaboutguts.blogspot.com ....

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

THE OSTOMY FACTOR

Better WITH a Bag than IN a Bag - living an ostomates life with humour and inspiration

Living with the Unexpected

There are approximately 750,000-1,000,000 people living with an ostomy in the United States. I am just one.

Amazing Adventures (ostomy included)

Courage Inspiration Empowerment

The Caged Bird Still Sings

Striving to be content with the life I have been given, instead of the life I had imagined

BedEleven

My disastrous health, weird life and ongoing story of intestinal failure.

Ask Ansley

My Crohn's Story

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

My name is Stephanie Hughes. This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease. I am a writer. I have Crohn's disease and an ostomy. I am a triathlete.

The Crohn's Diaries

Living with Crohn's Disease and Chronic Illness

Tissue Tales

My journey, navigating through life with a Connective Tissue Disorder.

Dr. Abby Caplin's "Permission to Heal"

Practical Loving Ways to Heal through Chronic Illness

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook.

Gotta Go: Our IBD Lives

Two Sisters - Two Differnet Lives - One IBD Diagnoses

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

My Cranky Gut

Misadventures with Crohn's Disease and the Specific Carbohydrate Diet

United Ostomy Association of Canada

Live Life to the Fullest!

Evicting My Misbehaving Colon

IBD and J-pouch Adventures

stanleystoma

The tales of Ulcerative Colitis, a stoma & J-Pouch

30 Days with Juice

A fine WordPress.com site

Lauryn and Lulu

My journey with Lulu (my stoma) & battling Crohns Colitis

crohniechaos

My Journey

Mind Body Medicine Network, LLC

Mastering the Art of Self Regulation for Mind Body approaches to Stress, Trauma, Pain and Insomnia Relief

Full Frontal Ostomy

living well with an ostomy

The Paleo Nurse

Healing through real food!

Bottled Time - Living, Loving, Laughing, Learning, and Growing through Chronic Illness and Pain

Reflections on the Mental, Emotional, Physical, and Spiritual aspects of Living with Chronic Conditions and Pain. Specifically, this blog explores the effects of Autoimmune Diseases, Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD), Interstitial Cystitis (IC), Epilepsy, Seizures, and Migraines on Finding Happiness, Humor, and Balance in Life. Pictures, videos, and links to resources and inspiration are included.

run stronger every day

change your life. go for a run.

G-string Journey

One Wild Journey, One Crazy Couple, One Life to Live

Connecting Teens & Young Adults to the facts about Digestive Diseases and how to live with them

Syrup & Salt

Eating with a BCIR

the ileo atlas

reflections on life by a girl minus a colon

Edgepark Medical Supplies Blog

Helpful diabetes, ostomy and urological articles and tips

Sovereign Ostomy

Sharing the glory of the Sovereign God and the joys of family while living with an ostomy .

myKareKit.com

Ostomy Life & Style Guide

You want to put that where?

A journey into IC and Familial Adenomatous Polyposis (FAP). 2 seperate diseases of the bladder and colon.

ActiveOstomates

Living an Active Life Without Limitations

On Eagles Wings.....

Mad mutterings of an IT professional, ostomate, Christan, figure skating fanatic and wanna be photographer as she stumbles through life's challenges and returning to school :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,114 other followers

