2 Comments

Awestomy!

Awestomy modelsMost undergarments make me cranky, so I get really excited when I find good ones. If bad underwear has ever made you cry, you can appreciate my enthusiasm.

My emotionally difficult journey with Crohn’s disease prompts serious questing and problem-solving as I try to dress comfortably and fashionably. The situation was bad enough when I was dealing with dramatic weight fluctuations, a sensitive belly, and serious wear and tear on my poor undies. After surgery to remove my mutant colon, I had to figure out how to deal with my permanent ileostomy. My stoma’s location prevented me from comfortably using my old underwear and pants, and the weight of my ostomy bag got irritating sometimes. I also worried about the bulging bag showing under most outfits.

My lovely mother helped me in my quest for comfort, and a dear friend recommended special ostomy underwear. Now I have a variety of goodies that work for me, and I absolutely must share this particular discovery. I found Awestomy through friends on Facebook, and I love my fancy undies enough to let the internet see me without pants. For someone with serious self-confidence issues, that’s a pretty big deal.

Awestomy currently sells shirts, wraps, swimsuits and underwear. The owners, Jason and Jessica, have done a great job with their social media presence and creating personal connections within the ostomy community. Their sense of humor shows throughout everything they do, but most obviously on their shirts. I don’t own any yet, but my favorite says “intestinal fortitude!”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have the women’s wrap in pink. I like the tapered waist and rubbery stuff around the inside of the top hem (whatever it is, it’s on my strapless bras too), because the cut suits my body type and stays in place. This wrap enables me to wear a few pairs of pants that hit below my bag. Since you can’t see through the wrap, it hides the bag even if it’s worn over pants.

I have the booty shorts in pink, black, and navy stripe. The fabric is so soft, and the lace is wonderful! I adore lace, so I feel dressed up in these. Many types of lace aren’t worth the trouble because they’re itchy and stiff, but this is high-quality and stretchy. There are moments I look at my opaque brown bag and just feel less than fabulous with it, so it’s nice put on my Awestomy undies and feel pretty. That might sound silly, but my obsession with bright things and fun patterns seriously draws me to these products.

Both garments look awesome, conceal my bulging bag under tighter clothes, support the weight of a full bag, and avoid my common complaints with bad underwear (irritation, sliding around, constricting my bag unevenly). Sometimes I feel like I’m not even wearing an ostomy bag because all I feel against my sensitive skin is the smooth fabric of the inner pockets. I’m a happy camper.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s come to my attention that some people are hesitant to try special ostomy garments because they want to feel normal, and they don’t want to use any more medical gear than necessary. If you are hesitant based on a dislike of medical-looking clothing, I should tell you plenty of people have seen my Awestomy undies and thought they looked great. When I wore them for the Chicago Undie Dash, I got tons of compliments from healthy people who had no clue I was hiding an ostomy bag and a phone under my sassy red lace.

Kickstarter

Awestomy is currently trying to raise funds through Kickstarter, and they could really use your contribution. They’re offering great rewards for different donation levels, and I definitely wish I had more to give! They hope to use this project to expand their business and enable them to reach a wider customer base. Even if you’re short on cash, please at least watch the main video and pass the Kickstarter link along to your ostomy buddies.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/964686420/awestomy-ostomy-apparel-with-attitude

Awestomy Kickstarter Video

Interviews

Me

Amy M. 

James S.

Carolyn G.

right2remainsexy banner

Related Reviews:

Keeping Things Inside is Bad for My Health: “Awestomy Kickstarter Program”

Monalogues: “Awestomy!”

Crohnie Bologna IBD: “It’s All in the Booty Shorts”

The Stolen Colon: “Follow Friday: Kickstart in Style”

2 comments on “Awestomy!

  1. Thanks,

Leave a Reply

Itsgutsandglory.co.uk

24 year old girl with Crohns and an Ileostomy. All things poop, food, fashion and advice

The Fight for Health

Journaling my fight with chronic illness through food, fitness, family and a fledgling martial arts journey.

Tree and Leaf: Honesty. Health. Humor.

Let's be real honest about immune/autoimmune diseases for a minute

#purpleproject

running to the bathroom.. my journey to cure IBD

My IBD Life

Shit happens, Wipe your ass and get over it

skylersthelimit

To live is an act of courage.

The Irrefutable Opinion

Assaults on the Casually Mundane by K. Jean King

The Chronic Adventurer

Finding a silver lining from his IBD

shine & Smile

Inspire. Dream. Love. & Keep Smiling Lovlies

Crohnie Man

Everything IBD and Crohn's

Mind Your Body

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

spilling my guts

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

Whoops! Thaila has moved!

Go to http://thailaskye.me.uk

talkaboutguts.blogspot.com ....

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

THE OSTOMY FACTOR

Better WITH a Bag than IN a Bag - living an ostomates life with humour and inspiration

Living with the Unexpected

There are over 1,000,000 people living with an ostomy in the United States. I am just one.

Amazing Adventures (ostomy included)

Courage Inspiration Empowerment

The Caged Bird Still Sings

Striving to be content with the life I have been given, instead of the life I had imagined

BedEleven

My disastrous health, weird life and ongoing story of intestinal failure.

Ask Ansley

My Crohn's Story

The Stolen Colon | Living beautifully with an ostomy

Stephanie Hughes | This blog is my way of connecting with the world about living with an ostomy and Crohn's disease.

The Crohn's Diaries

Living with Crohn's Disease and Chronic Illness

Tissue Tales

My journey, navigating through life with a Connective Tissue Disorder.

Dr. Abby Caplin's "Permission to Heal"

Practical Loving Ways to Heal through Chronic Illness

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook

Gotta Go: Our IBD Lives

Two Sisters - Two Differnet Lives - One IBD Diagnoses

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

My Cranky Gut

Misadventures with Crohn's Disease and the Specific Carbohydrate Diet

United Ostomy Association of Canada

Live Life to the Fullest!

Evicting My Misbehaving Colon

IBD and J-pouch Adventures

stanleystoma

The tales of Ulcerative Colitis, a stoma & J-Pouch

30 Days with Juice

A fine WordPress.com site

Lauryn and Lulu

My journey with Lulu (my stoma) & battling Crohns Colitis

crohniechaos

My Journey

Mind Body Medicine Network, LLC

Mastering the Art of Self Regulation for Mind Body approaches to Stress, Trauma, Pain and Insomnia Relief

Full Frontal Ostomy

living well with an ostomy

Pure Nutritional Therapy

Healing through real food!

Bottled Time - Living, Loving, Laughing, Learning, and Growing through Chronic Illness and Pain

Reflections on the Mental, Emotional, Physical, and Spiritual aspects of Living with Chronic Conditions and Pain. Specifically, this blog explores the effects of Autoimmune Diseases, Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD), Interstitial Cystitis (IC), Epilepsy, Seizures, and Migraines on Finding Happiness, Humor, and Balance in Life. Pictures, videos, and links to resources and inspiration are included.

run stronger every day

change your life. go for a run.

G-string Journey

One Wild Journey, One Crazy Couple, One Life to Live

Connecting Teens & Young Adults to the facts about Digestive Diseases and how to live with them

Syrup & Salt

Eating with a BCIR

the ileo atlas

reflections on life by a girl minus a colon

Edgepark Medical Supplies Blog

Helpful diabetes, ostomy and urological articles and tips

Sovereign Ostomy

Sharing the glory of the Sovereign God and the joys of family while living with an ostomy .

myKareKit.com

Ostomy Life & Style Guide

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,323 other followers

