2 Comments

Day 1: Why I write about my health

It’s National Blog Posting Month, and WEGO Health is doing its own health activist version. The goal is to post an entry every day, but that is not happening, folks. So I will post when I’m up to the task. Today is a decent day, so here goes!

I’ve already said a bit regarding my reasons for writing about my health (Why Speak Up), so today I will say more about why I choose to reach people with writing specifically. I’m too self-conscious and technologically inept to do videos. It’s also hard to get out and meet people when you’re horribly ill or can’t drive, and our health can be unpredictable. Gut diseases have a way of imprisoning us and consuming our energy, but we can still read in bed, the bathroom, or hospitals.I don’t write because I am an excellent writer, or because I need to vent, or because I needed a hobby. I write because I forget things when I’m talking to people, and it’s SO nice to point them toward written resources. I am so passionate that I worry about overwhelming people with information, so it’s best to write so readers can browse at their own pace.

I still spend time online researching nutrition, exercise, and emotional coping strategies, but there was a time when online research was a desperate attempt to figure out how to survive. Reading through articles or chat forums was difficult because I had to run back and forth to the bathroom, and I was unsatisfied with much of the information I waded through. I kept running into dead ends, ridiculous people, bad nutritional advice, and just plain inadequate resources. My family helped me with the quest for help, spending hours in front of a computer screen sifting for the nuggets of good information. Over the years since 2003, we have found goodies that provide guidance and emotional validation, and every time we find something useful, it’s so exciting!

I write because it’s the best way I have found to share the results of my “trial and error” processes and hours of online research. Every time I work on an entry, I think of what I wished for back when I felt so lost, alone, and confused. We’re all unique, so I can’t speak for everyone, and what works for me might not work for all my readers, but I can provide a starting place. Writing allows me to reach new friends who might be equally frustrated and desperate for relief. I hope to take some of the hair-pulling agony out of online research, because I don’t know about you, but when I’m cranky and tired, summaries soothe my pain-fogged brain. I love screening and sorting things for you, because I am a research fiend.

So in a nutshell, I write because mutant guts need extra love, and I am a cooped up research fiend on a mission to dig up internet goodies and make them accessible to you.

2 comments on “Day 1: Why I write about my health

  1. I love reading your blog! I like you spend a lot of time chained to a toilet! I haven’t blogged much lately due to so much going on. It gets lonely when you can’t go out and no one understands as much as someone going through it. I kinda feel like I have a friend!

    • I’m glad you’re enjoying my work! 🙂 I agree that nobody understands like a fellow sufferer. We have to stick together! Gutsy buddies make life so much better. Anytime you’d like to talk, just let me know (partiallyunstuffed@gmail.com). I hope your health starts improving soon.

Leave a Reply

the crohn's diary

A little diary, all about Crohn's and other form of IBD!

The big stoma bucket list

after a life crippled by Crohn's and Colitis my 101 stoma bag lady challenge

Erica's Tummy Blog

A blog of my life colored with the dealings of Crohn's disease and more

Colitis and Crohn's

Sharing and spreading awareness about Colitis and Crohn's disease.

bringtheshine

connect ~ inspire ~ support

Crohn's Knows

Taking Time To Talk Crohn's and IBD

Companion Magazine for IBD

Bringing the IBD world together, one story at a time

Tranquil Tummy

Blogging my journey to cure myself of Crohn's Disease

autoimmune barbie

Barbie girl living in an Autoimmune world.

hopefaithcurecd12's Blog

My journey, a way of coping with a chronic illness

childgastro

4 out of 5 doctors recommend this WordPress.com site

VeganOstomy

Helping to create happy ostomates.

Crohn's Allogeneic Transplant (Allo HCT)

Allogeneic bone marrow transplant to cure Crohn's disease – also called Allogeneic Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation (Allo HCT)

Itsgutsandglory.co.uk

25 year old Ex- Ostomate, living with Crohn's and writing about it. Advice, Food and IBD Life

The Fight for Health

Journaling my fight with chronic illness through food, fitness, family and a fledgling martial arts journey.

Tree and Leaf: Honesty. Health. Humor.

Let's be real honest about immune/autoimmune diseases for a minute

#purpleproject

running to the bathroom.. my journey with IBD

My IBD Life

Shit happens, Wipe your ass and get over it

skylersthelimit

To live is an act of courage.

The Irrefutable Opinion

Assaults on the Casually Mundane by K. Jean King

The Chronic Adventurer

Finding a silver lining from his IBD

shine & Smile

Inspire. Dream. Love. & Keep Smiling Lovlies

Crohnie Man

Everything IBD and Crohn's

Mind Your Body

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

spilling my guts

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

Whoops! Thaila has moved!

Go to http://thailaskye.me.uk

talkaboutguts.blogspot.com ….

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

THE OSTOMY FACTOR

Living an ostomate's life with humour and inspiration

Living with the Unexpected

There are over 1,000,000 people living with an ostomy in the United States. I am just one.

The FlowryLife

Living mindfully thanks to IBD

Amazing Adventures (ostomy included)

Courage Inspiration Empowerment

The Caged Bird Still Sings

Striving to be content with the life I have been given, instead of the life I had imagined

BedEleven

My disastrous health, weird life and ongoing story of intestinal failure.

Ask Ansley

My Crohn's Story

Tissue Tales

My journey, navigating through life with a Connective Tissue Disorder.

Dr. Abby Caplin's "Permission to Heal"

Practical Loving Ways to Heal through Chronic Illness

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook

Gotta Go: Our IBD Lives

Two Sisters - Two Differnet Lives - One IBD Diagnoses

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

My Cranky Gut

Misadventures with Crohn's Disease and the Specific Carbohydrate Diet

United Ostomy Association of Canada

Live Life to the Fullest!

Evicting My Misbehaving Colon

IBD and J-pouch Adventures

stanleystoma

The tales of Ulcerative Colitis, a stoma & J-Pouch

30 Days with Juice

A fine WordPress.com site

Lauryn and Lulu

My journey with Lulu (my stoma) & battling Crohns Colitis

crohniechaos

My Journey

