5 Comments

Resources: Facebook Things Part 3

I hope you enjoy this installment in my Facebook series. I am pleased to introduce you to some of the goodies that enrich my newsfeed. Parts 1 and 2 have more links.

Chronic Illness

Be Chronically Well: Empowerment to live well despite chronic illness

Bottled Time– Living, Loving, and Laughing Through Chronic Illness and Pain: Fun websites and photos.

Chronic Perseverance: “Awareness, encouragement, and inspiration.”

Disease on My Sleeve: “A bright new organization dedicated to supporting young patients with invisible chronic illnesses”

HopeKeepers for Chronically Ill: a Christian ministry that offers encouragement and resources for everyone coping with illness and pain.

I Have a Bad Tummy With an Optimistic Mind– Chronic Illness Support: Kelly’s posts brighten my newsfeed. Uplifting photos and quotations make me smile.

Sick Girl Beauty Vlog: “Sick does not have to equal unconfident, unattractive, or ugly.”

WEGO Health: Community and resources for health activists.

Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Bathroom Angels– Crohn’s and Colitis Blogs and Vlogs: A collection of social media goodies from IBD activists. This is a great way to learn about a variety of new perspectives.

Blood Poop and Tears: The Facebook page for Jackie’s blog.

Crohnie Bologna IBD: Christy also has an ostomy. This page provides updates on her blog and videos.

Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA): “Providing Hope. Inspiring Action.” I love the CCFA so much. That’s all I have to say about that.

Girls with Guts: I wrote about them here. The women featured on the GWG site all have empowering stories to share.

The Great Bowel Movement: These awesome ladies post jokes, activism opportunities, helpful articles, and whatever questions are on their minds.

Gut Inspired: A fabulous IBD page that includes lots of videos and resources.

The Gutsy Generation: “an initative by the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of Canada’s (CCFC) Youth Advisory Council (YAC) to foster awareness, support and action about Inflammatory Bowel Disease” Their hilarious pictures get me laughing out loud.

forward is a pace: The Facebook page for Lauren’s blog.

IBD or known as Inflammatory Bowel Disease: A page that aims to help patients and their families find information about Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.

Let’s Talk IBD: Maggie has Crohn’s disease and an Ileostomy.

Living with Crohn’s Disease– Healthline: Medical articles and reader questions

Inflamed & Untamed- Crohn’s/Colitis Support: Sara posts links to her blog, but she has also created a community by regularly posting reader questions for everyone to respond.

Intense Intestines Foundation: “Helping and connecting those with Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. Never Stay Quiet!” In addition to his work in the online community, Brian organizes outdoorsy activities and fundraisers.

Strong People Fighting Crohn’s and Colitis

Ostomy

Awestomy: “Ostomy apparel with personality and attitude.”

C&S Ostomy Pouch Covers: They want to help ostomates feel comfortable and confident.

Detoured Fashion– Ostomy and IBD support with a fashion twist

Giving Ostomy a Voice

Ileostomy and J-Pouch Support Network

It Happens– A Support Group for Ostomates and IBD Patients

Loud and Proud with an Ostomy: Promotes self-confidence and positive awareness efforts

My Doctor Knows Me Best From Behind: Ostomy and IBD Support. The Facebook page for Full Frontal Ostomy.

Ostomyland: “Blog and community portal for ostomates around the world.”

Ostomy Secrets: updates from this great ostomy clothing company

Raising Ostomy Awareness

The Stolen Colon: Stephanie’s Facebook page for her blog about her life without a colon.

Stomawise: A UK-based support network for ostomates. The page supplements their website.

United Ostomy Association of Canada: Updates about UOAC activities.

Vanilla Blush: Lingerie for ostomates.

 

5 comments on “Resources: Facebook Things Part 3

  1. Ahhhh Another Thanksgiving, so much wonderful food, so much pain……….

    I hope that you have a great day though Allysa!

    • Thanks, Philip! I know what you mean about Thanksgiving being painful. I used to get sad when I couldn’t eat all the wonderful food. I ate turkey, mashed potatoes, cranberry jelly, and pumpkin pie though. Yum! I’m going to work on some tips for enjoying the holiday season and get it posted before Christmas. I hope your physical issues don’t interfere with your Thanksgiving celebrations too much. Whatever happens, remember that you always have a great community to support you and help out in any way we can!

  2. Well you know how different foods affect us all differently. Every Thanksgiving or Christmas I would be down for three days, surviving only with Ensure. But I had eaten so many foods I didn’t know what was causing it. Nothing fried or oily?? Then one time I ate turkey in the summer time without all the other traditional things —down again. So THAT was the culprit. I still had trouble again the next holiday, my mother makes the most wonderful dressing–with the drippings from the turkey! So now it’s baked chicken with dressing made from the chicken drippings. It’s all good. Turkeys are for pets…

    Maybe this will help somebody

    (I had to work today anyway, so I wasn’t tempted by the long buffet of food, just a few leftovers when I get home, I hope anyway!)

  3. This is fantastic! I’m so glad I found your site. I’m coming off of my 2nd surgery for Crohns and realizing that it’s time to end the isolation. Can you believe I don’t know anyone in real life who has Crohns?? Thanks for all the resources. I just started a blog and may share some of the links if that’s alright with you. (PS – love your GWG toilet charm bracelet. Too Funny!) – Melissa

    • Thank you for writing, Melissa! I met people in real life at Camp Oasis, and a life-changing coincidence at college. I’m very lucky to know my gutsy buddies, and I hope you get to know some of them too. I am happy to hear you found some good resources, and feel free to share them on your blog. The more, the merrier!

Leave a Reply

the crohn's diary

A little diary, all about Crohn's and other form of IBD!

The big stoma bucket list

after a life crippled by Crohn's and Colitis my 101 stoma bag lady challenge

Erica's Tummy Blog

A blog of my life colored with the dealings of Crohn's disease and more

Colitis and Crohn's

Sharing and spreading awareness about Colitis and Crohn's disease.

bringtheshine

connect ~ inspire ~ support

Crohn's Knows

Taking Time To Talk Crohn's and IBD

Companion Magazine for IBD

Bringing the IBD world together, one story at a time

Tranquil Tummy

Blogging my journey to cure myself of Crohn's Disease

autoimmune barbie

Barbie girl living in an Autoimmune world.

hopefaithcurecd12's Blog

My journey, a way of coping with a chronic illness

childgastro

4 out of 5 doctors recommend this WordPress.com site

VeganOstomy

Helping to create happy ostomates.

Crohn's Allogeneic Transplant (Allo HCT)

Allogeneic bone marrow transplant to cure Crohn's disease – also called Allogeneic Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation (Allo HCT)

Itsgutsandglory.co.uk

25 year old Ex- Ostomate, living with Crohn's and writing about it. Advice, Food and IBD Life

The Fight for Health

Journaling my fight with chronic illness through food, fitness, family and a fledgling martial arts journey.

Tree and Leaf: Honesty. Health. Humor.

Let's be real honest about immune/autoimmune diseases for a minute

#purpleproject

running to the bathroom.. my journey with IBD

My IBD Life

Shit happens, Wipe your ass and get over it

skylersthelimit

To live is an act of courage.

The Irrefutable Opinion

Assaults on the Casually Mundane by K. Jean King

The Chronic Adventurer

Finding a silver lining from his IBD

shine & Smile

Inspire. Dream. Love. & Keep Smiling Lovlies

Crohnie Man

Everything IBD and Crohn's

Mind Your Body

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

spilling my guts

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

Whoops! Thaila has moved!

Go to http://thailaskye.me.uk

talkaboutguts.blogspot.com ….

encouragement and advice for folks with rebellious intestines

THE OSTOMY FACTOR

Living an ostomate's life with humour and inspiration

Living with the Unexpected

There are over 1,000,000 people living with an ostomy in the United States. I am just one.

The FlowryLife

Living mindfully thanks to IBD

Amazing Adventures (ostomy included)

Courage Inspiration Empowerment

The Caged Bird Still Sings

Striving to be content with the life I have been given, instead of the life I had imagined

BedEleven

My disastrous health, weird life and ongoing story of intestinal failure.

Ask Ansley

My Crohn's Story

Tissue Tales

My journey, navigating through life with a Connective Tissue Disorder.

Dr. Abby Caplin's "Permission to Heal"

Practical Loving Ways to Heal through Chronic Illness

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook

Gotta Go: Our IBD Lives

Two Sisters - Two Differnet Lives - One IBD Diagnoses

Hungry Girl Eats

Notes on the care and feeding of body, mind and spirit.

My Cranky Gut

Misadventures with Crohn's Disease and the Specific Carbohydrate Diet

United Ostomy Association of Canada

Live Life to the Fullest!

Evicting My Misbehaving Colon

IBD and J-pouch Adventures

stanleystoma

The tales of Ulcerative Colitis, a stoma & J-Pouch

30 Days with Juice

A fine WordPress.com site

Lauryn and Lulu

My journey with Lulu (my stoma) & battling Crohns Colitis

crohniechaos

My Journey

